Emma Thompson hires sex workers in ‘Good Luck, Rio Grande’

Emma Thompson plays widow Nancy Stokes, who tries proper sex for the first time in her life and hires a sex worker in new trailer for ‘Good Luck, Rio Grande’ By.

The film, which opened at Sundance earlier this year, will air on Hulu on June 17. Directed by Sophie Hyde, it will also open at this year’s Sundance in London (June 9-12).

Thompson plays Nancy, a widow and former teacher who, for the first time in her life, steps out of her comfort zone and hires a sex worker named Leo Grande, played by “Peaky Blinders” actor Daryl McCormack.

Watch the trailer below.

Los Angeles Asia Pacific Film Festival Announces Audience and Jury Prize Winners

The Los Angeles Asia Pacific Film Festival (LAAPFF) has announced the winners of the audience and jury awards for the 38th edition of the festival.

After nine days of screening, audiences voted for Kauro Ishibashi and Justin Taylor Smith’s film “Omoiyari: Kishi Bashi’s Song Movie” to win the Audience Award for Documentary Feature. Tom Wong’s “Dealing with Dad” won the Audience Award for Narrative Feature.

Also honored at the festival was Adilkhan Yerzhanov’s “The Assault”, which won the Narrative Jury Prize.The Narrative Feature Film Jury, comprising Thomas Lim, Melissa Bisangi, Valarie Castillo Martinez and Parvesh Cheena, also awarded the actors in Ham Tran’s “Maika” and “Leonor Will Never Die” director Martika Ramirez Escobar received special recognition from the jury.

The Documentary Jury, consisting of Emory Chao Johnson, Dinesh Sabu and Clarissa de los Reyes, awarded David Siev’s “Bad Axe” the Documentary Jury Prize.The jury especially recognizes Chen Dongnan’s work “Singing in the Wilderness” “Delikado” by Karl Malakunas and “Free Chol Soo Lee” by Julie Ha and Eugene Yi.

The Emerging Filmmaker Award goes to Yasir Masood’s film “Istikhara, New York.”

The short film “Eureka” won the Golden Scroll Award for Narrative Short Film and was automatically eligible for the Academy Award in the Animated Short Film/Live Action Short Film category.

American Film Archive Adds David Zaslav to Board of Directors

American Film Archive announced David Zaslavchief executive of Warner Bros. Discovery, is the newest member of the group’s board.

Zaslav spearheaded the most recent deal between AT&T and Discovery, Inc. in April. Warner Bros. Discovery, a new independent company born out of a massive transaction, has merged the media properties of WarnerMedia and Discovery under Zaslav’s leadership.

“We are delighted that David has joined the board,” said Rick Nisita, president of the American Film Archive. “The strategic perspective he brings will advance our film programming, especially as AC expands into educational programs and archival content development.”

Founded in 1984, the American Film Archive is a member-supported nonprofit cultural arts organization dedicated to building an engaged film community through immersive film curation, dialogue, and presentation.

Zaslav will be joined by Stephanie Allan, Mark Badaljaka, Peter Butt, Bill Bullock, Esther Chang, Sandy Kleiman, Peter Decombe, Charles Heaphy, Louis Kay Binsky, Mary Anne Kashen, Ken Kleinberg, Sue Kroll, Franklin Leonard, Michael Mann, Mike Medavoy, Darren Board members include Moll, Rick Nicita, Eric Nebot, Mark Ordesky, James Robinson, Stan Rosenfield, Ted Sarandos, Paul Shurgot, Bud Swartz and Paula Wagner.

CAA’s 7th Annual Moebius Film Festival gets return date and lineup

The Creative Artists Agency (CAA) is bringing back CAA Moebius, a two-day annual screening series showcasing a diverse group of graduate filmmakers. The agency announced today that live events will return on May 18.

The 2022 film lineup, now in its seventh year, includes live-action and animation from 13 emerging directors from USC, CalArts, Chapman University, the American Film Institute (AFI) School of Music, and North University Short film Carolina. Featured filmmakers from all over the world, including Mongolia, Mexico, South Korea, UK, US and Thailand.

The lineup for the first day of the festival included “Rated R” from USC’s Reid Antin; “Lux Noctis” from Damiana Acuña from AFI; “Red Velvet” from Chapman University’s Danielle Gibson; Haerim Yang from CalArts’ “Insomnia” “; “Carrion” by Yvonne Zhang of AFI; and “Magdalena” by Michael Lazovsky of AFI.

Day two will feature “Orbita” by Udval Altangerel, CalArts; “Sammy without Strings” by Ralph Parker III of UNC; “Hopper’s Day” by Jingqi Zhang from CalArts; “Hopper’s Day” by Nick Duggan from Chapman University You’re Beyond Hope Now, Arizona”; “Soundtrack.” Abhichoke Chandrasen from USC; “Charlotte” by Zach Dorn from CalArts; and “Chorus” by Daniel J. Egbert from AFI.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *